THE PRESIDENT RECORDINGS 1966-68 plus bonus cuts

Cat. No: PRCD 149
CD - 9.99

Formed in the early 1960s prior to the Beat Boom explosion, The Symbols honed their craft in the back waters of East London earning a reputation as one of the region's best live draws. With near-constant gigging and a knack for incorporating the catchiest of US hits within their set, the boys - John Milton (vocals), Mick Clarke (bass guitar), Shaun Corrigan (lead guitar) and Clive Graham (drums - later Chas Wade) - caught the attention of the newly-formed President label, which swiftly led to their covering The Happenings' US smash See You In September in 1966.

Their 4th single introduced them to the UK charts, a version of the Four Seasons' earlier US hit, Bye Bye Baby and in so doing inadvertently laid down the blueprint for what would become the Bay City Rollers' No.1 some 8 years later. (The Best Part Of) Breaking Up heralded their only LP release and after releasing just one more single in 1968, the band's brief tenure with President was over.

This CD includes all of their President cuts plus previously unissued bonus tracks including the recently-discovered Four Seasons Medley plus the band's original demo of Silence Is Golden, later a chart-topper for The Tremeloes. This long-awaited reissue is required listening for all devotees of Harmony Pop. Story liner notes by David Wells.


1. (The Best Part Of) Breaking Up 14. Schoolgirl
2. To Make You Smile Again 15. Canadian Sunset (inst.)
3. Canadian Sunset Four Seasons medley: Walk Like A Man / Sherry / Big Girls Don't Cry*
4. Hideaway 17. I Live
5. Again 18. I Will See You There
6. Bye Bye Baby 19. Charade (demo)
7. See You In September 20. The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine Anymore (demo)
8. The Gentle Art Of Loving 21. Look Over The Hill And Far Away (demo)*
9. The Things You Do To Me 22. Rainbow (demo)
10. You'd Better Get Used To Missing Her 23. Through A Long And Sleepless Night (demo)
11. Pretty City 24. There's No Room In Your World For Me (demo)*
12. A Lovely Way To Say Goodnight 25. Silence Is Golden (demo)*
13. Do I Love You *Previously Unissued


President Records Ltd.
Unit 6 & 7,
11, Wyfold Road,


Top Home Links